Sowi-Doc.Awards 2019

The Sowi-Doc.Awards for the academic year 2018/2019 are awarded to:

 

Mag. Dr. Tobias Boos, BA

Political Science

“Populism in the centre – Kirchnerism and the Argentinian middle class between 2003 and 2015”

The dissertation examines the role of the middle class in Argentina during the populist governments of Néstor Kirchner (2003–2007) and Cristina Fernández de Kirchner (2007–2015). The research results show that parts of the middle class – contrary to widespread assumptions within existing research on populism and the middle class – were an important pillar of so called Kirchnerism. The dissertation develops a theoretical framework within hegemony theory and applies a mixed method approach using qualitative and quantitative data. It examines which mechanisms at the economic, institutional and level of political identities were used to gain the support of the middle class. The dissertation thus contributes to closing the research gap with regard to the role of the Latin American middle class during the populist governments and generally contributes new insights to the debate on populism within social science.

Tobias Boos defended his dissertation in May 2019 at the Faculty of Social Sciences of the University of Vienna. Since July 2019 he works as a postdoctoral researcher at the Institute of Political Science. His research interests are Politics and middle class in Latin America, Populism, State theory of the Global South, Political Economy and Political Theory.

Contact: tobias.boos@univie.ac.at


Mag. Dr. Raffael Heiss, BA MA

Communication Science

“Political Actors on Social Media: Content, Exposure and Effects”

This dissertation investigates the new phenomenon of political actors on social media and uses an innovative mixed-methods approach, composed of surveys, content analyses and experimental designs. Based on this approach, I could examine the phenomenon from different perspectives and looked at selective exposure, the content and the expected effects. The core results of my dissertation indicate that although political actors’ social media profiles could create new spaces for participation and deliberation, mainstream political actors hardly use them for these purposes. At the same time, right-wing populist are successfully mobilizing a large number of (young) followers and spread xenophobic and anti-elitist sentiments.

Raffael Heiss defended his dissertation in October 2018 at the Faculty of Social Sciences of the University of Vienna. Since November 2018 he is lecturer and co-director at the MCI Center for Social & Health Innovation. His research interests include public health, communication, digital media, and civic engagement.

Contact: raffael.heiss@mci.edu

 

Mag. Dr. Andreas Streinzer

Social and Cultural Anthropology

“Reconfigurations of Provisioning. Austerity and Interdependency in Volos, Greece”

The dissertation studies the transformations of economic everyday lives in the city of Volos, Greece. The author conducted 12 months of ethnographic fieldwork between 2014 and 2017, generating data in a mix of participant observation, interviews, survey methods and financial diaries. The aim of the study was the reconstruction of provisioning relations of the research participants and their reconfigurations during the economic crisis. The results document the dramatic consequences of recession and austerity on employment, unpaid labour, kinship and friendship, and modes of recognition and political engagement. Besides impoverishment, the study focuses on attempts at solidarisation and alternative economies.

Andreas Streinzer defended his dissertation in June 2019 at the Faculty of Social Sciences of the University of Vienna. He is fellow at the Institute for Social research, Frankfurt am Main, and researcher at the School of Humanities and Social Sciences at the University of St. Gallen. His research interests are economic and political anthropology, critical ethnography and the social anthropology of Europe.

Contact: andreas.streinzer@univie.ac.at

 

The Sowi-Doc.Awards 2019 were awarded on 11 November 2019 as part of the Early Stage Researchers’ Day at the Faculty of Social Sciences.

 

Media reports:

“Die neue Medienmacht politischer Akteure”, derstandard.at, 9 November 2019

Jungforscher”, Falter Heureka, 13 November 2019

Sowi-Doc.Awards 2019

Die Sowi-Doc.Awards für das Studienjahr 2018/2019 gehen an:

 

Mag. Dr. Tobias Boos, BA

Politikwissenschaft

„Populismus der Mitte – Kirchnerismus und die argentinische Mittelklasse zwischen 2003 und 2015“

Die Dissertation untersucht die Rolle der Mittelklasse in Argentinien während der populistischen Regierungen von Néstor Kirchner (2003–2007) und Cristina Fernández de Kirchner (2007–2015). Die Forschungsergebnisse zeigen, dass Teile der Mittelklasse – konträr zu weit verbreiteten Annahmen innerhalb der Populismus- und Mittelklassenforschung – eine wichtige Säule des sogenannten Kirchnerismus waren. Dabei untersucht die Dissertation aus hegemonietheoretischer Perspektive und mit Hilfe eines Methodenmix aus qualitativen und quantitativen Daten, über welche Mechanismen auf ökonomischer, institutioneller und identitärer Ebene die Mittelklasse als Unterstützerbasis gewonnen werden konnte. Damit liefert die Dissertation einen Beitrag zu Schließung der Forschungslücke hinsichtlich der Rolle der lateinamerikanischen Mittelklasse während der populistischen Regierungen und steuert allgemein neue Erkenntnis zur sozialwissenschaftlichen Populismus-Debatte bei.

Tobias Boos beendete sein Dissertationsstudium an der Fakultät für Sozialwissenschaften im Mai 2019 und ist seit Juli 2019 am Institut für Politikwissenschaft als Postdoc tätig. Zu seinen Forschungsschwerpunkten zählen Politik und Populismus in Lateinamerika, Mittelklasse in Lateinamerika, Politische Ökonomie, Staatstheorie des globalen Süden und Politische Theorie.

Kontakt: tobias.boos@univie.ac.at

 

Mag. Dr. Raffael Heiss, BA MA

Publizistik- und Kommunikationswissenschaft

„Political Actors on Social Media: Content, Exposure and Effects“

Diese Dissertation untersucht das neue Phänomen politischer Akteure auf Social Media und nutzt dabei einen innovativen Methodenmix aus Surveys, Inhaltsforschung und experimentellen Designs. Dadurch konnte ich das Phänomen aus verschieden Perspektiven beleuchten und blickte auf die selektive Zuwendung, die Inhalte und die zu erwartenden Effekte. Die Kernergebnisse zeigen, dass die Social Media Profile von politischen Akteuren zwar neue Räume für Partizipation und Deliberation schaffen könnten, moderate politische Akteure sie dafür jedoch unzureichend nutzen. Gleichzeitig mobilisieren rechtspopulistische Akteure auf Social Media erfolgreich eine Vielzahl an (jungen) Followern und streuen darüber fremdenfeindliche und anti-elitäre Ressentiments.

Raffael Heiss verteidigte seine Dissertation im Oktober 2018 an der Fakultät für Sozialwissenschaften der Universität Wien und ist derzeit Lektor und Forscher am MCI Center for Social & Health Innovation in Innsbruck. Seine Forschungsschwerpunkte sind Öffentliche Gesundheit, Digitale Medien und bürgerschaftliches Engagement.

Kontakt: raffael.heiss@mci.edu

 

Mag. Dr. Andreas Streinzer

Kultur- und Sozialanthropologie

„Reconfigurations of Provisioning. Austerity and Interdependency in Volos, Greece“

Die Dissertation untersucht die Transformationen wirtschaftlicher Alltagsleben in der Stadt Volos in Griechenland. Zwischen 2014 und 2017 wohnte der Autor insgesamt 12 Monate für seine ethnographische Feldforschung in Volos und erhob in einem Mix aus Teilnehmender Beobachtung, Interviews, Surveys und Finanztagebüchern. Ziel der Studie war die Rekonstruktion der Versorgungsbeziehungen der Forschungsteilnehmenden und deren Rekonfigurationen während der Wirtschaftskrise. Die Ergebnisse belegen die dramatischen Auswirkungen von Rezession und Sparpolitik auf Arbeitsverhältnisse, unbezahlte Arbeit, Verwandtschaft und Freundschaft sowie Formen von Anerkennung und politischem Engagement. Neben der Verschärfung von Armut nimmt die Arbeit Versuche der Solidarisierung und alternativer Ökonomie in den Blick.

Andreas Streinzer verteidigte im Juni 2019 seine Dissertation an der Fakultät für Sozialwissenschaften der Universität Wien. Derzeit forscht er am Institut für Sozialforschung in Frankfurt am Main und an der School of Humanities and Social Sciences der Universität St. Gallen. Seine Forschungsinteressen sind ökonomische und politische Anthropologie, kritische Ethnographie und die Sozialanthropologie Europas.

Kontakt: andreas.streinzer@univie.ac.at

 

Die Sowi-Doc.Awards 2019 wurden im Rahmen des Tags der Nachwuchsforschung an der Fakultät für Sozialwissenschaften am 11. November 2019 feierlich verliehen.

 

Pressestimmen:

„Die neue Medienmacht politischer Akteure“, derstandard.at, 9. November 2019

Jungforscher“, Falter Heureka, 13. November 2019